The List Of Animal Products To Avoid On Any Label

list of animal products

A food label that is ‘Vegan’ does not necessarily mean that the food is completely vegan. This definition should only be used when choosing if the food should have a label stating ‘Vegan’ on it. Other items included in the ‘Vegan’ food category are food containing none or very limited amounts of animal products and animal by-products (i.e., animal skin, milk, cheese, etc.).

The inclusion of ‘vegan’ as an animal product is also not restricted to food. Still, it can also refer to non-food items such as blankets, bedding, clothing, bedsheets, and other products that contain animal products. As a general rule, foods that include animal-derived ingredients are not considered ‘vegan’ and, therefore, should not be used on the label of the product as an ingredient can’t affect the food.

Elements In Animal Products

A large long train on a steel track

Animal products contain several different elements that are deemed detrimental to people, plants, and animals. These substances include but are not limited to, lanolin, fat, blood, bones, tissues, bones, organs, feathers, hair, and wool. In addition to animal-derived products potentially harmful, animal flesh has been known to carry diseases like hepatitis, salmonella, rabies, hepatitis, cholera, and even malaria. Animal fat has been proven to carry several diseases and viruses, including; hepatitis, salmonella, hepatitis, rabies, typhoid, and malaria. Fat is considered by many to be the most dangerous of all the animal products listed and should not be used on any food label.

Vegan Food Should Not Contain Dairy Products

A piece of cake

Food that is Vegan should not contain any milk or dairy products. Milk and dairy products are often the sources of many allergies and diseases for some people. Some foods can have dairy; however, they will need to state on the label that they do not contain milk. The ‘Cow’s Milk’ label should never be used on any food label because it is considered a milk-based food and should not be included in the ‘Vegan’ label.

The inclusion of vegan as a label means that the food should not include meat/meat extracts. Many of the foods that use this type of label also include meat extracts such as eggs, fats, bones, organs, skins, feathers, blood, bones, etc.

Meat Extract Are Considered To Be Inedible

Meat/meat extracts are considered by many to be inedible, which means that they should not be added to a product. Most animal derivatives should never be added to a product.

Fish can be considered to be inedible, and many would consider that fish should not be used in any food. However, they are not considered vegan under the Vegan food label and should not be used on any food label.

Although many other types of animal derivatives should never be used in food, the above listed are the main ones that should not be used on any label. If you feel that you have come across a product that contains these or other animal derivatives, you should call the manufacturer or retailer to make sure they are compliant with the Vegan food label.

Various other animal derivatives can be used on the label that is considered acceptable by many vegans. The following list is only a basic guide.

Egg Yolk And Egg Whites

Egg yolk and egg whites are considered to be one of the healthiest forms of protein. These can be found in many sources, but they are considered the best sources for both proteins when used in small amounts. The majority of people do not consume the adequate amount of egg yolks required to meet their daily protein needs.

Nuts are also considered animal derivatives and can be found in almost all forms of nuts, although many people do not like their taste. Although they are considered nutritionally beneficial, they should not be used in any form of food labeled as ‘Nutritional’ Dairy’ since they are derived from animal sources.

Final Words

There are several other types of animal derivatives that are considered to be acceptable as ingredients for any food. Although some are not acceptable, the more common ones listed above are considered to be acceptable.

Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter
Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter